Experienced & Aggressive North Carolina Lawyers
Industrial Accidents FAQ's
What are industrial accidents?
This broad category covers everything from small spills in the workplace to the plant explosion in Kinston, N.C., which killed six employees.
Who is required to provide workers' compensation coverage?
Any employer who employs three or more employees.
What must an employee do when an injury occurs?
Report the injury to the employer, in writing, immediately and no later than 30 days. Print out a Form 18, fill it out, sign it, and make two copies.
Mail the original Form 18 to:
N.C. Industrial Commission
4334 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4334
Mail the first copy of Form 18 to your employer by certified mail, return receipt requested, and keep the receipt. This will be your proof of mailing.
Keep the second copy of this Form 18 for your file.
What benefits does an employee receive while out of work?
An employee is eligible to receive a “temporary total disability” check each week when completely unable to earn wages as the result of the work-related injury. The employee is eligible to receive total disability benefits until he or she is able to return to work. An employee is not due compensation for the first seven days of lost time unless the period of disability exceeds 21 total days. Therefore, payment for days one through seven is made only after the total disability continues beyond 21 days.
When do I become eligible for lost wage compensation?
No compensation is due for the first seven days of lost time unless the disability exceeds 21 days. Therefore, the first check will not include payment for days 1-7. Payment for those days will be made should the disability continue beyond 21 days.
How long will I be eligible to receive lost-time weekly benefits?
You will receive benefits until you are able to return to work.
What is a permanent partial disability rating?
Total or partial loss of use of a member of the body directly caused by a work-related injury may result in permanent partial disability. The Industrial Commission ultimately determines permanent partial disability based on the impairment ratings of physicians. When there is a permanent impairment to one or more of the parts of the body listed in the Workers’ Compensation Act, the employee may receive a set period of benefits without consideration of the employee’s ability to earn wages. Permanent partial disability benefits are generally based upon a combination of the impairment ratings, the parts of the employee’s body involved, and the employee’s average weekly wage.
When should an employee file for a hearing with the Industrial Commission?
There are many issues that may cause disputes between an employee and the employer or its insurance company that require the employee to file for a hearing with the Industrial Commission. In particular, when an employee’s claim is denied, the employee must file for a hearing within two years of the injury date or the ability to receive benefits may be lost. A hearing request is filed with the Industrial Commission by use of Form 33.
How does an employee contact the Industrial Commission?
If an employee needs to contact the North Carolina Industrial Commission in Raleigh, the phone numbers are 1-800-688-8349 or 1-919-807-2501. The Industrial Commission’s Internet site can also be a helpful resource.
Watch Our Videos
Our Practice Areas
- Personal Injury
- Workplace Injury
- Family Law
- Social Security Disability
- Pharmaceutical Litigation
- Product Liability
Contact Us Today
Free No Obligation,
" I appreciate the outstanding service that you and your staff have shown and given to me and my family.
3701 Lake Boone Trail
Raleigh, NC 27607
Toll Free: 800-811-9495